Living In New Zealand

It’s official: I have been living in New Zealand for just over 9 months now, and somehow, I’ve managed to not write a single blogpost about my time here!  So, I’m changing that today! Below are some of my favorite pictures from my time living here.  Throughout the course of the past nine months, I have checked a number of things off of my bucket list and I want you to come to New Zealand to be able to check off your list, one thing at a time!  I’m going to share with you my top 10 favorite places I’ve visited, they don’t go in a specific order, I have too many favorites.

1) Mt Roy’s Peak, Wanaka

ADM_7807

If you can’t tell why this is my number one spot, then you need glasses.

Also, I thought I was in shape, until I went on this hike.  I also have no words to describe the beauty I saw that day.

2) Cathedral Cove, Coromandel

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Cathedral Cove. Honestly, this place has been on my bucket list since I was about eight years old.  I acted like a little kid on Christmas Day, and I have absolutely no shame in that. Stunning place.

3) Mount Maunganui

IMG_5113

Ahh the good ‘ole Mount.  A pretty easy hike, and a view that’s absolutely incredible.  Amazing beaches, clear water, and some pretty delicious ice-cream shops nearby!  Each time I visit the Mount, it gets prettier, I swear!

4) Te Waihou Springs, Putaruru

IMG_7407

As you can see, Te Waihou is a Spring, so the water is extremely cold.  I only lasted in the water for about 30 seconds before I needed to jump out because I couldn’t feel my toes anymore!

(TIP: Bring an empty drink bottle to fill up, the water tastes amazing!)

5) Wairere Falls, MatamataIMG_3704

This is quite a steep hike, but the view from the top is amazing, especially on a clear day!  It’s about a 3 hour roundtrip hike and has a stunning waterfall that you can see halfway up, once you get to the top, you’ll be standing over the waterfall. How cool is that?!

6) Bridal Veil Falls, RaglanIMG_8591Lots of stairs, lots of pretty pictures. Definitely worth the burning muscles getting back up! There are multiple viewing areas so you don’t have to go all the way down to the pond at the bottom but I do think it’s worth it!

7) Whangamata Beach, Coromandel

IMG_4390

Whangamata has some incredible sunrises, let me tell you. I got up at 5am to watch this sunrise and it ended with me running all over the beach trying to capture the sunrise in the best places possible.  One of my all time favorite sunrises.

8) Rere Falls, Gisborne 

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Rere Falls is a crazy cool place! There’s a rock slide, a waterfall you can swim in, and a little pond.  Be careful if you go onto the rocks – they’re extremely slippery so I scooted on my bum most of the way out to slide down the rocks. Had an absolute blast swimming in a waterfall.  The water can actually be quite painful if you aren’t prepared for it!

9) Kaikoura, South Island

IMG_1088

The South Island is in a league of it’s own! Some absolutely stunning pictures just waiting to be snapped. My host family and I went whale watching while we were there, we only saw one whale but ended up seeing a pod of over 300 dolphins! I also happened to see 5 of the most endangered dolphins that were swimming right along the beach, they announced over a loudspeaker that the endangered dolphins were at the shoreline and I went from being the only person on the beach to about 50 people running down towards where I was standing.

10) Pauanui, Coromandel 

IMG_6274

I went to Pauanui with my best friend, Katie, and we stayed up at her host families bach! It was an incredible week of adventures, pictures, and a 4 meter Great White Shark showing up at the beach! Pauanui is just a bach town pretty much! There’s one cafe, one supermarket, and if I remember correctly; one bar. That’s about it, so unless you know someone who owns a bach, you probably won’t stop for more than an hour to take pictures, but it’s a gorgeous place!

There you have it! My top 10 places to visit in New Zealand! There are so many more places, to be honest, I could’ve made this my top 50 places to visit, but I figured no one would want to read such a long blog post.  I hope you enjoyed looking through these photos, every single snapshot means a lot to me and each one has so many incredible memories that go along with the photo.

I hope to see you in New Zealand soon!

Leave a Reply

