“You don’t use shampoo? Ew.”

A few months ago, I stumbled across a blog of a young woman who had decided to “go off the deep end” and cancel out shampoo and conditioner in her life.  At first, I found her to be quite strange.  I mean, who does something like that?  How do you actually have your hair feeling nice and shiny?  Let’s be honest, it sounds gross, weird, and a little bit intriguing.  I went on to read the rest of her posts talking about “No Poo”.  About two weeks later, after hours of studying on the subject, I decided to give it a shot.

“Items you will need:

Baking Soda (BS)

Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV)

Boar Bristle Brush (BBB)”

 

I looked at this list of things I would need to start my journey towards stronger, healthier, longer hair; I laughed.  Who would want to be around someone who smells like vinegar all the time?  But in the long run, I decided I wanted to have hair by the time I reached 80.

The blog had forewarned me about how your hair will have a transition phase because your head isn’t used to having to produce it’s own oils.  That’s what your shampoo and conditioner are doing, stripping your head of it’s natural oils and replacing it with fake oils.  Shampoo is a detergent, and so it’s cleaning your hair, but it’s also taking away all of the healthy, natural oils that your head produces. Shampoo and conditioner companies want you to use as much of their products as possible, so most of you have to wash your hair EVERY SINGLE DAY.  With No Poo you can go up to 10 days without having to “wash” your hair.

So the journey began. The first day, I sat there thinking, “Pshh this won’t be a hard transition.” Boy, was I ever wrong.  I woke up the next morning and felt as if someone had dipped my hair in oil, let it dry sticking straight up.  It was absolute torture, considering I knew I couldn’t do another BS/ACV wash for another 4 days. That’s the horrid part of the transitioning phase.  A couple weeks passed, and my hair felt like wax, grease, and didn’t smell so great, either.  I continued, though, for some odd reason.

Well, two weeks ago, two weeks like the blog said, TWO MONTHS into this stupid transition phase, I finally got past transitioning. In those two months, I learned so much more than just about my hair, I learned to persevere through something I was ready to be done with.

Here’s what happened in those two months: my hair grew two and a half inches, my hair got stronger, and my hair gained more volume.  Now present time, my hair feels clean! Today marks 5 days since I’ve last “washed” my hair.  Yet, my hair doesn’t look dirty. My hair looks clean, manageable, and shinier than when I used shampoo/conditioner.

So, for those of you who have noticed and mentioned how my hair has looked “so beautiful” lately, that’s why.  I decided to go against the typical norm and “went off the deep end”, just like the lady from the blog I had first found out about No Poo.

Her blog is “Living In Another Language”

Love you all ❤

Leave a Reply

